Ruturaj Gaikwad

In an exciting announcement, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) revealed that the upcoming Asian Games in Hangzhou will witness a young and talented Indian men’s squad taking the field. Given that the tournament will be played in the shortest format, the BCCI has chosen to send a team comprising promising youngsters and players who showcased their mettle in the recently concluded Indian Premier League (IPL).

Ruturaj Gaikwad, an emerging star who has impressed with his performances in domestic cricket and the IPL, has been entrusted with the responsibility of leading the young Indian side. Joining him are a host of promising players who caught the eye during the IPL. The squad includes the likes of Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma, Shivam Dube, and Yashasvi Jaiswal, who was awarded the prestigious Most Valuable Player title at the IPL tournament.

Ruturaj Gaikwad
File image of Indian Cricketer Ruturaj Gaikwad : Sportzpics

The selection of this youthful squad demonstrates the BCCI’s commitment to nurturing and showcasing the immense talent present in the country. By providing an opportunity for these talented players to represent the nation on an international stage, the BCCI aims to groom the next generation of Indian cricketing stars.

On the other hand, the Indian women’s squad for the Asian Games will be at full strength, reflecting the formidable prowess of the team. Harmanpreet Kaur, a proven leader with invaluable experience, will take charge as the captain, while the talented batter Smriti Mandhana has been named the vice-captain. The women’s team, known for its exceptional performances in recent years, will look to maintain their dominance and clinch yet another title on the grand stage.

As India sends its best cricketers, both men and women, to the Asian Games, the country’s cricketing fraternity is filled with anticipation and excitement. The competition will not only provide a platform for the young talents to gain exposure but also enable them to test their skills against top players from other cricketing nations in the continent.

The Asian Games have always been a remarkable avenue for athletes to showcase their abilities and represent their countries with pride. With the Indian men’s squad led by Ruturaj Gaikwad and the women’s squad captained by Harmanpreet Kaur, the nation has high hopes for a successful campaign in Hangzhou. Fans eagerly await the thrilling battles and exceptional performances that lie ahead, as these talented cricketers strive to bring glory to the country on this prestigious stage.

India Men’s squad for the Asian Games 2023

Ruturaj Gaikwad (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi, Shivam Dube, Prabhsimran Singh (wk)

Stand by players: Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Sai Sudarsan.