IPL 2012

Gautam Gambhir’s Captaincy and Jacques Kallis’ All-Around Performance Lead Kolkata Knight Riders to Victory in IPL 2012

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has always been a source of entertainment and excitement for cricket fans around the world, and the 2012 season was no different. With eight teams competing against each other in a series of high-octane matches, the IPL 2012 was a season to remember.

The 2012 edition of the IPL began on April 4th, and the opening match saw Chennai Super Kings taking on Mumbai Indians at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. The defending champions Chennai Super Kings, led by their captain MS Dhoni, were looking to retain their title, while Mumbai Indians, led by Sachin Tendulkar, were determined to win their first IPL trophy.

The tournament featured some of the biggest names in cricket, with players like Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Gautam Gambhir, and Lasith Malinga, among others, participating in the league.

The league stage of IPL 2012 saw some closely contested matches, with some of the standout performances coming from Kolkata Knight Riders, who finished on top of the points table, followed by Delhi Daredevils, Mumbai Indians, and Chennai Super Kings.

In the playoffs, Chennai Super Kings faced Mumbai Indians in the first qualifier, with the winner guaranteed a place in the final. Chennai Super Kings, led by MS Dhoni’s brilliant captaincy and Suresh Raina’s outstanding batting, defeated Mumbai Indians by 38 runs to secure their spot in the final.

In the second qualifier, Kolkata Knight Riders faced off against Delhi Daredevils, with the winner advancing to the final. Kolkata Knight Riders, led by Gautam Gambhir’s superb captaincy and Jacques Kallis’s all-around performance, defeated Delhi Daredevils by 18 runs to set up a final clash with Chennai Super Kings.

The final of IPL 2012, held on May 27th at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, was a thrilling encounter. Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and elected to bat first, posting a total of 192/5 in their 20 overs, thanks to Manvinder Bisla’s brilliant knock of 89 off just 48 balls.

In reply, Chennai Super Kings got off to a solid start, with Michael Hussey and Murali Vijay putting on a 87-run partnership for the first wicket. However, once Hussey was dismissed, the Chennai Super Kings’ batting collapsed, and they were eventually bowled out for 190, losing the match by just two runs.

Kolkata Knight Riders were crowned champions of IPL 2012, with Manvinder Bisla being named the player of the match for his outstanding innings in the final. The season was a huge success, with some outstanding performances, nail-biting finishes, and some unforgettable moments, making it a season to remember for cricket fans around the world.

IPL 2012

IPL Winners 2012 : Kolkata Knight Riders


The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2012 season was won by Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). The team was captained by Gautam Gambhir and coached by Trevor Bayliss. KKR defeated Chennai Super Kings in the final held at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. KKR scored a total of 192 runs in their innings, thanks to Manvinder Bisla’s blistering knock of 89 off 48 balls. In response, Chennai Super Kings could only manage 190 runs, falling short by just two runs. This was KKR’s first IPL title win, and it was a moment of great joy for the team and its fans.

“Glory for Kolkata Knight Riders: A Look Back at Their IPL 2012 Victory”

The IPL 2012 final was a nail-biting encounter between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK). KKR won the toss and elected to bat first, with Manvinder Bisla and Gautam Gambhir opening the innings. Bisla played an outstanding innings, scoring 89 runs off just 48 balls, including eight boundaries and five sixes. He was well supported by Gambhir, who scored 42 runs off 35 balls. KKR posted a total of 192 runs for the loss of five wickets in their 20 overs.

Chasing a target of 193 runs, CSK got off to a solid start with their openers Michael Hussey and Murali Vijay putting on a partnership of 87 runs. However, KKR made a comeback with some brilliant bowling and fielding, which resulted in some quick wickets for CSK. Albie Morkel played a cameo of 28 runs off just 10 balls, but it was not enough as CSK fell short by just two runs in the end, finishing their innings at 190 for the loss of three wickets. KKR emerged as the winners of IPL 2012, lifting their first-ever IPL trophy.

IPL 2012 Teams and Players who made history

The IPL 2012 season featured nine teams, each with a squad of talented players. Some of the players who made history during the tournament include:

  1. Sunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders) – Narine was the highest wicket-taker of IPL 2012 with 24 wickets in 15 matches. He played a crucial role in KKR’s title-winning campaign.
  2. Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – Gayle was the highest run-scorer of IPL 2012 with 733 runs in 15 matches. He also scored the fastest century in IPL history, off just 30 balls.
  3. Kevin Pietersen (Delhi Daredevils) – Pietersen was the backbone of the Delhi Daredevils’ batting lineup, scoring 305 runs in 8 matches at an average of 61.00.
  4. AB de Villiers (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – De Villiers was a key player for RCB, scoring 319 runs in 14 matches at an average of 39.87.
  5. Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings) – Bravo was a valuable all-rounder for CSK, taking 19 wickets and scoring 142 runs in 18 matches.

These players and many others showcased their skills and talent throughout the IPL 2012 season, entertaining fans and leaving a mark on the history of the tournament.