India vs Pakistan cricket match have always been one of the most awaited and intense encounters in the world of sports. Over the years, there have been many memorable matches between the two teams, with each game adding to the rivalry between the two nations. In this blog, we will take a look at the most memorable India vs Pakistan cricket match in history and why it holds a special place in the hearts of cricket fans.

India vs Pakistan Cricket Match

India Vs Pakistan T20 Would Cup 2007 Final

The match we’re referring to is the 2007 ICC T20 World Cup Final, played on September 24, 2007, in Johannesburg, South Africa. The match was the first-ever T20 World Cup final, and the excitement surrounding the encounter was at an all-time high. India and Pakistan had both played some excellent cricket throughout the tournament and were meeting each other for the first time in the tournament.

India won the toss and decided to bat first, and the opening partnership of Gautam Gambhir and Yusuf Pathan set the tone for the Indian innings. India went on to score 157/5 in their allotted 20 overs, with Gautam Gambhir top-scoring with 75 runs.

Pakistan’s chase started well, with Imran Nazir and Kamran Akmal putting on a 33-run opening stand. However, once Imran Nazir was dismissed, Pakistan lost wickets at regular intervals and struggled to keep up with the required run rate. Misbah-ul-Haq’s innings of 43 runs off 38 balls gave Pakistan a glimmer of hope, but his dismissal in the 18th over proved to be the turning point of the match. Pakistan needed 13 runs off the last over, and Joginder Sharma was given the responsibility to bowl the crucial over for India. He delivered a match-winning over, giving away only 3 runs and taking two crucial wickets, including that of Misbah-ul-Haq.

India won the match by 5 runs, with Joginder Sharma becoming a hero overnight for his brilliant last over. The win was India’s first-ever ICC T20 World Cup title, and the match is remembered as one of the greatest moments in Indian cricket history.

India vs Pakistan Cricket Match

The 2007 ICC T20 World Cup Final was not only a memorable match for Indian cricket fans but also for cricket lovers worldwide. It was a match that lived up to its hype and showcased the passion, intensity, and competitiveness of the India vs Pakistan cricket rivalry. Even after so many years, the match remains etched in the memories of cricket fans as a symbol of the greatness of the game.

Scorecard : India Vs Pakistan T20 Would Cup 2007 Final

India  (20 ovs maximum)

Gautam Gambhir c Mohammad Asif b Umar Gul75547682138.88
Yusuf Pathan c Shoaib Malik b Mohammad Asif1581211187.50
Robin Uthappa c Shahid Afridi b Sohail Tanvir811131072.72
Yuvraj Singh c & b Umar Gul1419281073.68
MS Dhoni (c)†b Umar Gul61090060.00
Rohit Sharma not out30162221187.50
Irfan Pathan not out33900100.00
Extras(lb 1, nb 1, w 4)6
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 7.85, 90 Mins)157/5
Did not bat: Harbhajan Singh, Joginder SharmaSreesanthRP Singh 
Fall of wickets: 1-25 (Yusuf Pathan, 2.4 ov), 2-40 (Robin Uthappa, 5.4 ov), 3-103 (Yuvraj Singh, 13.3 ov), 4-111 (MS Dhoni, 15.2 ov), 5-130 (Gautam Gambhir, 17.6 ov)
Mohammad Asif302518.3372110
Sohail Tanvir402917.2581120
Shahid Afridi403007.5082100
Mohammad Hafeez302508.3374000
Umar Gul402837.0092111
Yasir Arafat201909.5022000

Pakistan  (T: 158 runs from 20 ovs)

Mohammad Hafeez c Uthappa b Singh1330033.33
Imran Nazir run out (Uthappa)33142842235.71
Kamran Akmal †b Singh038000.00
Younis Khan c YK Pathan b Joginder Sharma24242740100.00
Shoaib Malik (c)c Sharma b IK Pathan817250047.05
Misbah-ul-Haq c Sreesanth b Joginder Sharma43385104113.15
Shahid Afridi c Sreesanth b IK Pathan012000.00
Yasir Arafat b IK Pathan15111620136.36
Sohail Tanvir b Sreesanth124902300.00
Umar Gul b Singh024000.00
Mohammad Asif not out41610400.00
Extras(b 1, lb 4, nb 1, w 6)12
TOTAL19.3 Ov (RR: 7.79, 90 Mins)152
Fall of wickets: 1-2 (Mohammad Hafeez, 0.5 ov), 2-26 (Kamran Akmal, 2.3 ov), 3-53 (Imran Nazir, 5.4 ov), 4-65 (Younis Khan, 8.3 ov), 5-76 (Shoaib Malik, 11.3 ov), 6-77 (Shahid Afridi, 11.4 ov), 7-104 (Yasir Arafat, 15.6 ov), 8-138 (Sohail Tanvir, 17.6 ov), 9-141 (Umar Gul, 18.5 ov), 10-152 (Misbah-ul-Haq, 19.3 ov)
RP Singh402636.50124001
Joginder Sharma3.302025.71121120
Yusuf Pathan10505.0010000
Irfan Pathan401634.00121010
Harbhajan Singh3036012.0041310